Weapons Violation Bail Bonds

Weapon Charges

Regardless of Ownership Rights, Possession of a Gun in Restricted Areas Can Lead to Weapon Charges.

With certain exceptions, almost anyone can own a gun in California. However, the state also has some of the most stringent gun laws in the country, and failure to adhere to these standards can result in weapon charges. When they do occur, weapons charges in California represent a serious offense, and are typically categorized as felonies. At FINELINE Bail Bonds, we provide bail bonds for a variety of felonies, including most weapon charges.

An arrest is almost always a highly unpleasant experience. When you consider the weightiness of weapons charges, arrest and incarceration become even stressful. At the very least, jail release on a bail bond gives a defendant an opportunity to clear his or her head, and consider their situation from a calmer viewpoint. If you or someone you know was arrested for weapon charges in Oxnard, CA, give FINELINE Bail Bonds a call today at (805) 486-8466.

Types of Weapon Charges

Weapon Charges

Pointing a Gun at Someone Is Considered Assault with a Deadly Weapon.

Weapon charges in California can land across a broad range of categories. Even if you have the legal right to own a weapon, gun laws can prohibit its possession in certain circumstances. If you illegally possess, use, or carry a firearm, you risk arrest for one of the following charges.

  • Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon
  • Carrying a Concealed Weapon
  • Illegal Sales of Firearms
  • Possession of Assault Weapons
  • Firing Into an Unoccupied Building
  • Possession of a Firearm by a Felon
  • Improper Handling of Firearms in a Motor Vehicle

As stated above, most weapon charges will result in a felony, especially when paired with assault charges. However, dependent on the circumstances, a judge may label a weapons charge as a misdemeanor. The type of weapon, along with the intent for its use, count for a lot in this regard.

Misdemeanor Weapon Charges: If considered a misdemeanor, a weapon charge will lead to incarceration and/or a fine, with upper limits established at one year and $1,000.

Felony Weapon Charges: When it comes to felonies, everything depends on the unique circumstances of the crime. Punishment can fall over a wide range of one to 20 years in state prison. Previous criminal records, the type of weapon involved, and the circumstances of the arrest all play major roles in sentencing.

We’re Here to Help

For all weapon charges in Oxnard, CA, including both misdemeanors and felonies, FINELINE Bail Bonds is your local bail solution. Don’t simply sit in jail and wait for your hearing. Instead, contact our team at (805) 486-8466 to explore your options for jail release.